FCRA Registration

FCRA Registration

What is FCRA Registration?

  • Stands for the Foreign Contribution Regulation Act.
  • Governs and regulates foreign contributions
  • Certificate issued by the Government Authority of India.
  • Mandatory to acquire or receive any foreign contribution or foreign grants.
  • Received by any registered trust, society, section 8 company, and NGOs.

Types of FCRA Registration

here are two types of FCRA Registration:

  • Proper FCRA Registration
  • Prior Permission FCRA Registration


  • The applicant must be registered under any of the following act:
  • Societies Registration Act, 1860
  • Indian Trust Act, 1882
  • Companies Act, 1956
  • Companies Act, 2013
  • Must be operating for a minimum period of 5 years.
  • In the last 3 financial years, spent a minimum of 10 Lakh rupees for the furtherance of its main objects excluding administrative expenditure.
  • Submit Statements of Income & Expenditure along with audit reports of the last 3 financial years.


If you as a newly registered organization are willing to receive any kind of foreign contribution then apply for prior permission. At the time of making application must ensure:
Foreign owner
Funding is to be used for a specific purpose.
Amount of foreign contribution

Eligibility criteria for FCRA Registration:

  • Trust / Society / Section 8 Companies registered under their specific Act.
  • Charitable objectives for serving the society by promoting health, education, economic development, promotion of art, culture, religion, sports, etc
  • Entity not prohibited under any of the provision of the FCRA Act
  • Foreign contribution accepted shall not endanger the life or safety of any individual or shall not lead to any offense.

Required documents:

  • Self-certified copy of incorporation certificate or trust deed of such entity.
  • PAN of NGO
  • Copy of MOA & AOA of NGO.
  • Signature of the chief functionary in JPG format.
  • Seal of Association
  • A detailed report on activities of the preceding three years.
  • Audited copy of the financial statement, Income-Expenditure details, receipt-payment, and cash flow statement of the preceding three years.
  • CTC of the resolution passed by a governing body authorized by NGO.
  • Certificate obtained under section 80G and 12A of Income Tax.
  • Duly signed approval/commitment letter from the foreign contributor (In case of Prior Permission FCRA Registration)

Validity period:

For Proper FCRA registration:
5 years from the date of approval.
After 5 years required to be renewed for receiving any further foreign contribution.
For Prior Permission FCRA registration:
Till the date, the foreign contribution is fully utilized for which the prior permission was granted.

Furnish Return after FCRA Registration

Every registered entity under FCRA is required to file a quarterly return and annual return.

  • Quarterly Return: File Intimation of Quarterly Receipt of Foreign Contribution by the associations within 15 days from the end of every quarter.
  • Annual Return: FC-4 is required to be filed within 9 months of the closing of every financial year.

Time is taken for FCRA Registration: 4-6 months

  • Renewal of FCRA Registration
  • Submit application for renewal of FCRA Registration at least 6 months before the registration lapses.
Scroll to Top
× How can I help you?